FacebookTwitterYou TubeClub ShopCork County Senior Hurling Champions 1918 & 2011
Senior Hurling
  • 2011 Junior B Football
  • Championship Reports
  • League Reports


Manager  Dave Carroll
Selectors James Horgan, Paul Kierans, John O Sullivan, John O Donnell and Tim O Connor
Date Competition Opponent Result
10th Oct League Cloyne Carrig 0-8 Cloyne 1-10
28th Sept Championship Lisgoold Carrig 4-4 Lisgoold 1-7
16th Sept Championship Youghal Youghal 1-10 Carrig 0-7
5th Sept League Lisgoold Carrig 2-9 Lisgoold 2-13
  League Glenbower Carrig 1-10 Glenbower 1-14
17th April Challenge Nemo Rangers Carrig 3-2 Nemo Rangers 0-9




Championship v Lisgoold on Wednesday28th September 2011
Carrigtwohill 4-4 Lisgoold 1-7

Carrig's Junior B footballers recovered from their first round defeat against Youghal to get their title defence back on track with a convincing win over Lisgoold. On a miserable evening for football Carrig were worth more than their six point winning margin and were completely in control in the second half.


Three well taken goals in the first half was the platform for Carrig's win. John Hartnett got two of them and Finbar Brown got the other from centre field. Those scores helped Carrig into a 3-2 to 1-6 half time advantage which they extended in the second half when Ross O'Mahony converted a penalty with a powerful shot that flew in off a post.


Carrig: Kieran Baverstock, Brian Dineen, Damien O'Donovan, Cian Rohan, Darren Burns, Cormac Carroll, Colm O'Donovan, Declan Sugrue, Finbar Brown, Christopher Horgan, Ross O'Mahony, Christopher Casey, Padraig Hannon, Liam Barry, John Hartnett.
Subs used: Conor Healy, Tadhg Meehan, Aidan Meade, Brian Hegarty.

Other panel members: Liam O'Shaughnessy, Sean Buckley, Jonathan Buckley.




Championship v Youghal on Friday 16th September 2011
Youghal 1-10 Carrigtwohill 0-7

This match was played under lights in Youghal. It was a good tough match with with both teams putting in a splendid performance. Possession was even in the first half with Youghal just about edging it with some long range points. Carrig stayed in touch with well worked scores. Youghal went in at half time with a slender lead of 0-6 to 0-4.


The early stages of the second half was tit for tat with scores difficult to achieve. Youghal then increased there lead by two more points.But Carrig then took over scoring three points without reply setting up a spectacular finish.Carrig had more opportunities but failed to convert, then Youghl scored a goal against the run of play this proved to be decisive.


Panel - Brian Hegarthy, Damian Donovan, Cormac Carroll(capt), Brian Dineen, Darren Burns, Anthony Murphy, M O'Sullivan,
Tim O'Connor, Ross O'Mahoney, Declan Sugrue, Shane Healy, Cathal McSweeny, Colum Donovan, Finbarr Browne, John Hartnett, Patrick Ahearn, Ronan Crowley, Liam O'Shaughnessy, Peter Furlong, Cian Rohain, Aoidan Meade, Kieran Baverstock. 

Scorers - Cathal McSweeney 0-1, Shane Healy 0-1, Peter Furlong 0-1, Tim O'Connor 0-1, Ross O'Mahoney 0-3.



League v Cloyne in Carrigtwohill on Monday 10th October 2011
Carrigtwohill 0-8 Cloyne 1-10 

Played under lights in Carrig, this was a splendid game of football.Cloyne led by 0-7 to 0-4 at the interval. 
The game hung in the balance with ten minutes  to go but a deflected ball which ended up in the back of the Carrig net gave Cloyne the upper hand. 

Nevertheless the Carrig lads put up a great performance and made Cloyne fight all the way for their win.


Panel - Padraig Hannon, Damian Donovan, Cormac Carroll(capt), Brian Dineen, Darren Burns, Aoidan Meade, Sean Buckley, 
Tadgh Meegan, Christopher Horgan, Liam Barry, Ross O Mahoney, Declan Sugrue, Connor Healy, Colum Donovan, Finbarr Browne, John Hartnett, Liam O Shaughnessy, Cian Rohain, Kieran Baverstock, Johnathan Buckley, William Ryan. 

Scorers - Connor Healy 0-2, Finbarr Brown 0-2, Declan Sugrue 0-2, Christopher Horgan 0-1, Ross O Mahoney 0-1.



League v Lisgoold on 5th September 2011

Lisgoold 2-13 to Carrigtwohill 2-9

This was a game of two halves. Carrig started the better and led by 2-5 to 0-3 at half time, thanks to two great goals by Finbarr Browne and Padraig Hannon. Another highlight of the first half was a lovely fist ed point by Liam Barry. 

Carrig then played against the wind in the second half and held our own for the first fifteen minutes but then two successive goals scored within five minutes altered the run of play and Lisgoold gained the advantage which they held on to for the remainder of the game. Carrig are convincing at the start of each game played so far and if we can finish strongly Carrig will be a formidable force in the championship.


Panel - Brian Hegarthy, Damian Donovan, Cormac Carroll, Colum Donovan, Darren Burns, Peter Braughan, Orry O'Donoghue, 
Tim O Connor, Ross O Mahoney, Cathal McSweeny, Colin Santry, Finbarr Browne, Liam Barry, John Hartnett, Padraig Hannon, 
Jason Leahy, Ronan Crowley, Liam O Shaughnessy, Mateuse Bechek.


Scorers - Cathal McSweeney 0-4, Padraig Hannon 1-1, Finbarr Browen 1-0, John Hartnett 0-2, Ross O'Mahoney 0-1,  Liam Barry 0-1. 




League v Glenbower 2011
Carrigtwohill 1 - 10 Glenbower 1 - 14

This was a very tightly fought contest played in Carrigtwohill. Carrig led by two points at half time 1-5 to 0-6. Glenbower started the second half the better scoring a goal and two points without reply but Carrig rallied scored the next five points.Carrig then lost their momentum and Glenbower who fielded a number of their u21 county team ran out eventual winners.

Panel - Kieran Baverstock,Damian Donovan,Cormac Carroll,Aoidan Meade,Darren Burns,Peter Braughan, Mick O Sullivan,Tim O Connor, Ross O Mahoney, Cathal McSweeny, Declan Sugrue, Christopher Horgan, Finbarr Browne, John Hartnett, Marty McConville, Liam Ryan, Darren Sylvester


Scorers - Cathal McSweeney 1-4, Declan Sugrue 0-2, Tim O Connor 0-1, John Hartnett 0-1, Christopher Horgan 0-1,  Finbarr Browen 0-1.


back to top